Remembering Duane Allman

Bob Beatty
2 min readOct 30, 2023

--

Today is the 52nd anniversary of the death of Duane Allman, and like the history geek I am, I drafted several thousand words about Duane’s death in relation to memorialization and public memory: two concepts I’ve spent a significant amount of time thinking about over the years.

Included in the above is something I wrote in Play All Night! Duane Allman and the Journey to Fillmore East (you do have your copy, don’t you?

Long Live the ABB: Conversation from the Crossroads of Southern Music, History, and Culture

I figure this is also a good time to let y’all know that for the past six or so months I’ve been writing at Substack. I have migrated my archives there as well.

Please follow me at Substack at www.longlivetheabb.com.

In addition to Substack, I’m also posting on social media:

If you notice a theme, it’s intentional, and I broke it down here:

Thanks for reading and keep on truckin’!

--

--

Bob Beatty

Music obsessive. History Geek. Southerner. Guitar Player. Public Historian. Teacher. Writer. Fan.